Underage DUI in Texas
Call our Skilled Houston DWI Defense Attorney Now
Any motorist under 21 caught drinking and driving is perceived to be breaking
two laws: not only are some of these drivers operating a vehicle while
intoxicated, but all of them are also under the legal drinking age. Texas
courts take these particular instances of drunk driving seriously and
a conviction can mean a significant interruption in the life of a young person.
If your daughter or son has been arrested for underage drunk driving, then
it is time to explore your defense options with a proven advocate. At
The Law Office of Jason Luong, PLLC, our skilled and experienced
Houston DWI defense attorney is an award-winning former prosecutor well-versed in the diligence that
must go into a drunk driving conviction. Our firm can ensure that every
viable defense avenue in your child's case is aggressively pursued
and that their rights and interests remain a priority both in and outside
Your family does not have to proceed with this matter without powerful
defense representation by your side. Contact us at
DUI vs DWI
When a driver 21 or older is charged with drunk driving in Texas, it is
considered a Driving While Intoxicated, or DWI, charge. This is because
their blood alcohol level must be 0.08% or higher, indicating a significant
presence of alcohol in their system.
This is not the case for drivers under 21 in Texas. Because they should
not be consuming any alcohol at all, any BAC reading over 0.00% can result
in a charge. Because the underage driver does not necessarily need to
be intoxicated for these charges, this offense is called Driving Under
the Influence, or DUI. Underage DUI can be charged when an underage driver
is found to have a BAC level that is more than 0.00% and less than 0.08%.
Underage DUI penalties can include:
- Maximum $500 fine
- 60-day license suspension
- Alcohol-awareness education
- Maximum of 40 hours of community service
If an underage driver is found to have a BAC level of 0.08% or higher,
they can be charged under the normal DWI statute. This charge can yield
more serious penalties, including $2,000 in fines and up to 180 days in jail.
For more information on your child's drunk driving charge and what
our firm can do to challenge the case against them, request a
free case evaluation with us today.